On The Moors

There are a lot of different habitats close to where I live but one I don’t visit as often as I should are the moorlands. Whenever I visit I tend to come across something new and it was the same on a recent early morning outing.

The warblers have returned and virtually all the small trees had one singing away in full voice. These were willow warblers trying to attract a partner for the breeding season after having arrived back from sub-Saharan Africa where they spend the winter.

_X0A7371_X0A7364

There were also lots of meadow pippits around, which although usually around all year may well have spent the winter at the coast or lower down the valleys.

_X0A7587

The star of the show though was the skylark which I watched rise to the heights singing its song before diving back down into the heather. Luckily Iย watched where it landed but its incredible camouflage meant it took me a good few minutes to fix on it and take a picture.

_X0A7402

8 comments

  1. marlandphotos · May 6

    Great Collection!

  2. I’ve never actually seen a skylark!! How utterly delightful ๐Ÿ˜€ Lots of chiffchaffs around this year in the South East!

    • spugwash · May 19

      Only seen them before high in the sky so nice bonus.

      • I refer to birds that evade me as my nemesis too lol ๐Ÿ˜‰ Treecreepers outwit me all the time! I swear the little devils actual laugh at me as they disappear into the heights. I have a couple of good photos but it’s not like really getting to know the habits of a local bird and be able to watch it often! Hope you get to see the skylarks in the same area again ๐Ÿ™‚

        • spugwash · May 23

          Glad I’m not the only one who feels like that, but it keeps us going out to try

Leave a Reply

