Stepping In

_X0A9039As a wildlife photographer I guess I’m meant to shoot what’s in front of me and not get involved but sometimes your emotions get in the way. At first I thought this was just a fight between some male mallards so I began shooting some pictures. However it soon became clear that they weren’t fighting each other and beneath this scrum of eight males was one female who was being thrust under the water as five of them grabbed her neck.

_X0A9041

Some loud shouting, clapping and waving of my arms distracted them long enough for her to get away and as she waddled off to float away on the stream I’m sure she gave me a look of relief and gratitude

Leave a Reply

