Back in Black (and red)

Last year I watched a pair of Great Spotted Woodpeckers raising their chicks in my local wood. I’ve been going back over the last couple of weeks and spotted they were back and using the same nest hole. Both parents were flying in and out with food for the young. Looking at the type of food they were taking in I’m guessing the young are still very small as all the morsels were tiny. Over time as the young grow the size of the food increases, last year I saw other birds plundered chicks being offered.

_X0A9717_X0A9696

It won’t be long till the young woodpeckers will be poking their heads out and shouting for more food. Hopefully this year I’ll see them fledge.

17 comments

  1. I’m doing the same but haven’t seen the youngsters yet! Lovely images of the adults πŸ™‚

    • spugwash · May 4

      Once they get big enough they’ll be sticking their little punk pirate heads out to be fed!! Stick with it

      • I know πŸ˜€ I can’t wait! Also watching a nuthatch nest along the same stretch of the local canal πŸ™‚

        • spugwash · May 6

          Don’t know how many are in my nest but they’re getting noisy. Once the stop going in to feed it won’t be long till the heads start popping out. Nuthatches nesting three trees down from the woodpeckers and a squirrel nest in the tree behind. All going on!!

          • Oh awesome!! I get worried about the woodpeckers when they get noisy as you really can hear them shouting from quite a distance. All the crows come in to see if there’s an easy meal! My nuthatch nest is so beautifully hidden amongst some dense ivy on an old trunk. I can’t actually get to a spot to see the actual entrance! No wonder they’re so successful with it every year πŸ™‚

          • spugwash · May 7

            Let’s hope we get some popping out soon

          • I must check up on my nest sites!!

          • spugwash · May 11

            Mine are getting close!! Dad’s feeding into the hole rather than going in and I glimpsed a little head yesterday!!

          • Checked yesterday and both adults are feeding as well as chasing away crows and magpies! Lots of noise from the nest now πŸ™‚ Adults still going all the way in to feed so a bit of time yet! My nuthatch are doing a lot of feeds and driving me nuts by hiding in foliage on their way in and out of the nest πŸ˜‰ I think they have a good brood in there πŸ˜€

          • spugwash · May 12

            Isn’t it just brilliant

          • I’m loving it πŸ™‚ The other great thing is that my two nests are on the canal towpath so I get loads of people stopping to ask what I’m watching and they’ve often seen other interesting things along their walking route that they pass on. I get my fix of dog cuddles too πŸ˜‰

          • spugwash · May 13

            I got told off yesterday by a lady who I’d pointed out the woodpeckers to. She’s been late for work all last week cos she keeps stopping to watch them!!

          • Haha, brilliant! Well done you πŸ˜€

          • spugwash · May 18

            My punk pirates are popping out…pics soon

          • Oh brilliant πŸ˜€ It’s been too wet to check on mine the last few days! We have badly needed this rain though. I was lake swimming on Tuesday and it’s about a foot or so lower than it should be at this time of year!! Hopefully the nest will keep pretty dry as it is at on a sloping trunk. I shall keep my eyes on your blog πŸ™‚

          • spugwash · May 19

            Hope they haven’t gone!

          • Still there, deep in the nest, being very demanding πŸ˜‰ I will be checking in on them on Wednesday I hope!

Leave a Reply

