Red Kites

Returning from a visit to our head office this week I knew there would be a good chance to see some Red Kites if I came across country to the motorway. Having spotted a couple I decided to pull over for a short break and see if I could get some pictures as they glided overhead.

Down in the valley a farmer was ploughing a field and I soon noticed that it wasn’t just gulls following the tractor to look for some treats. The ground was covered in red kites and at one point I counted over 40. They were in the trees, in the sky and in the field and I was mesmerised. Although some distance away I managed to get a couple of decent pictures before I set off North again.

1a1b

3 comments

  1. bettylouise31 · February 19, 2016

    How lucky we don’t ha e kites here. I have sen birds following a tractor or fire. The raptors have a treat.

    • spugwash · February 20, 2016

      They were almost extinct here until a few years ago. So good to see them back, so majestic

  2. belindagroverphotography · February 19, 2016

    Dramatic shot!

Leave a Reply

