I’m Not Sure I Like Kingfishers Any More

As you may know I’ve been trying to nail a kingfisher shot for awhile now and yesterday I think the love affair came to an end. I spotted this one which flew away as soon as I pointed the camera at it. but I decided to hang around and see if it came back.

1b

Well after about half an hour I decided to check my phone and popped my camera down. And yes up popped the kingfisher 6 feet in front of me posing on the fence. I couldn’t move as it would have flown the second I made a move for my camera so for a couple of minutes we just looked at each other. I swear it winked and smiled as it upped and flew away!!!

6 comments

  1. AnnetteM · August 23, 2015

    Very funny – and typical! Oh well I am sure you will get one soon. I think the shot you did get is pretty good for a kingfisher – they do move pretty fast.

    • spugwash · August 23, 2015

      I think the wife thinks I’m having an affair I spend so much time on that riverbank!!

  2. GF-Chopstix · August 29, 2015

    I do hope that you get your shot. I had been trying unsuccessfully for ages to get a good shot of a kingfisher that lives nearby. Every time I spotted it, I got really excited, and as soon as my camera came out, and I was about to ‘get that perfect shot’, it would hide in the nearby trees, or fly off. Sadly, I gave up. I had baking and cooking to do….

  3. fluidicthought · February 10, 2016

    My favourite bird.. I feel your pain 😱 I would love to get a photograph but like you, am yet to get a nice close up.

    • spugwash · February 10, 2016

      I did finally get there though and wrote an e-book about it. Find where they visit and keep going back, lots of patience required

Leave a Reply

