Who Scared all the Birdies?

I’ve been spending a fair few early mornings on my local river bank after seeing Kingfishers whizzing about. Yesterday while sat patiently waiting for a flash of blue and gold I noticed a commotion in the trees and all the small birds flying quickly away. I couldn’t see what had upset them so carried on my vigil. However a few minutes later a movement on the far bank caught my eye and I spotted this young lady Sparrowhawk. I guess she’s just had breakfast!

sparrowhawk1

sparrowhawk2

3 comments

  1. bettylouise31 · August 20, 2015

    That has been known to happen at bird feeders. Your birds looks like a sharp skinned or a cooper’ hawk both eat small birds and are hard to tell the difference. Good pictures.

    • spugwash · August 20, 2015

      They’re called sparrowhawks in the UK this one is a young female.

      • bettylouise31 · August 20, 2015

        In the US the Kesteral is referred to as sparrow hawk and the Merlia as the pigeon hawk.

Leave a Reply

