A Photographers Dilemma

As you may know I quite often spend my lunch hours out and about with the camera and usually I just take one of my smaller lenses. Well last week I had two separate occasions when the Iron Giant would have greatly enhanced some shots of a couple of new birds.

The Goldcrest is the smallest UK bird and not only is it hard to spot, when you finally do they certainly don’t sit still and pose for photographs. I managed a couple of pics but at the edge of my range, curse you Iron Giant!!

gold1

gold2

Then to cap it off the very next day I spotted my first Grey Wagtail. She was bathing and preening and the photographer took over from the gentleman (who would have averted his eyes) and snapped away. Again she was at the edge of my range and I’m sure these would have been cracking with the Giant attached.

gwdunk

gwtail

gwclean

So today I will be investing in a bigger camera bag so the Iron Giant is always to hand !!!! But it also ensures I keep trying to improve and means I’ll go back and have another go.

5 comments

  1. Boeta · February 14, 2015

    Oh I feel you. Problem is when you go back, ain’t no birdies or when we go in wildlife areas the long lens work at max most times, which can get very frustrating if you see something special.

    • spugwash · February 14, 2015

      I know it’s a hard life Haha

      • Boeta · February 14, 2015

        Hehe, tough, very tough. …

      • Dina · February 14, 2015

        Indeed! Lovely shots, nevertheless. 🙂
        Wishing you a Happy Valentine,
        Dina, Klausbernd, Siri & Selma xxxx

        • spugwash · February 14, 2015

          And the same to you. Hope someone special is looking after you

Leave a Reply

