A Tour Through My Art Collection 1

I’m not a great fan of art. With modern art I just don’t get it and religious art seems to be a lot of suffering and fat babies. I quite like a landscape and I do like waterlillies. Van Goghs’ Potato Eaters makes me laugh every time I see it. It’s like someone’s dressed up some monkeys and he’s tried to paint them. But at the same time I do like his sunflower and a poem I wrote when I was about 10 about his Pavement Café was published in the local paper.

My personal art collection is slightly different to what you’ll see in the Louvre or the Hermitage but I still see it as the highest form of art. Cartoon Art.

I bought my first picture about 20 years ago when I was still working as a cartoonist. It’s of one of my all time favourite cartoon characters Muttley. He currently hangs at the top of the stairs out of the way of the kitchen makeover but he will return to pride of place in the new dining room.

‘Wake up there, Muttley, you’re dreaming again! You’re not Robin Hood and you’re not Gunga Din. You’re not a brave knight or a king that’s been crowned. You’re just plain old Muttley, the snickering hound!”

muttley

2 comments

  1. Crooked Tracks · December 12, 2014

    I also like cartoon art, I think it is getting more respect these days.

    • spugwash · December 12, 2014

      There’s a few more on my walls so I’ll post them all eventually. Glad you like them.

Leave a Reply

