Guess Who Went Off the Beaten Track Again

I decided to go seal spotting today as my birthday yesterday was a bit of a strange one. So I set off to Donna Nook on the Lincolnshire coast to see the new born grey seals.

Even though I have a degree in Geography I am starting to get lost with amazing regularity, and of course it happened again. This time I swallowed my pride and switched Tom Tom on for some satnav guidance.

I followed her instructions down winding back roads and country lanes and pulled over in amazement at seeing a gentlemen in his garden chatting over the fence to a neighbour with a hawk on his arm!!!

He was very chatty and happy to let me ask questions and eventually take a few photographs

This is Fran, she was born earlier this year and is a Gyrfalcon. They are the largest of the falcon family and are usually found in the arctic regions.

She happily munched on a dead chick while we spoke and was totally un-phased with being photographed. She is one of the most beautiful birds I’ve had the pleasure to meet. I’ll let you know about the seals later, I’m still in shock!!

IMG_0640

IMG_0638

IMG_0637

6 comments

  1. Crooked Tracks · December 5, 2014

    I love your photos! The first one is my favorite, what a look from that bird.

    • spugwash · December 5, 2014

      Thank you, pure luck in meeting her. She was stunning

  2. Marja · December 5, 2014

    Wow, stunning. Can’t believe you got so close!

    • spugwash · December 5, 2014

      She was just sat on the mans hand eating a dead chick!!

  3. gfchopstix · December 6, 2014

    Beautiful markings on the hawk. Love your bird photos! Happy belated Birthday!! 😀

Leave a Reply

