Star Wars – One Special Moment

The launch today of the trailer for the upcoming Star Wars movie brought back a great memory from 1999 and the release of The Phantom Menace

At the time I worked down South and one of my colleagues other half worked at Pinewood studios. She wasn’t a great movie fan and I think he’d just had enough of movies during the week so I was quite often a very grateful recipient of tickets to cast and crew premieres. These weren’t the red carpet with all the stars there, but a Sunday morning in Leicester Square with all the backroom staff who built the sets, provided food and kept the animals under control.

When she offered me two tickets to the new Star Wars film I nearly married her on the spot.

Harry was about 6 at the time and mad about the original trilogy so off we went up to London for a special treat.

I think they showed the movie at three theatres at the same time so they could get everyone in and the start times were slightly staggered so Rick McCallum the Producer could pop into each one and thank us for all our hard work in getting the movies finished. No problem Rick, my pleasure.

We enjoyed the film, the atmosphere was totally different to a normal trip to the cinema but the stand out moment was nearing the end when Darth Maul is struck down and he falls down a shaft to his doom. Cut in half the two parts separate and Harry shouted at the top of his voice “Dad, Dad his trousers have fallen off !!!!! “. The place erupted.

I’m not expecting an invite to the premiere of the latest instalment.

2 comments

  1. Andy · December 2, 2014

    Ha ha yes-I remember those trousers falling off. I think they should have kept Darth Maul for the other two films, he was a far greater/imposing character than the likes of the much maligned Jar Jar Binks. I’m excited about the new ones-Han Solo is back after all! 🙂

    • spugwash · December 2, 2014

      I agree he was bad ass whereas jar jar was just bad

Leave a Reply

