Prog Rocker and Proud of It

After having to listen to my sons choice in music pounding out from his bedroom and talking to the girls in the office I’m proud to be a rocker and a child of my times. I’ve tried listening to the dross Harry plays but even an old fashioned bloke likes me quickly tires of foul language, misogynist lyrics and a bass line that shakes my fillings.

I realised my age and tastes when a girl at work told me she likes to listen to old music from the 90’s !!!!!! She then completed my total disappointment in her by telling me she was going to a Steps concert!!

The blank look she gave me when I reeled off some of my musical tastes told me it was almost time to book a Saga holiday.

So here we go in no particular order a list of what I like, no apologies just great music and some of the most overblown and ridiculous lyrics your ever likely to hear. Listen to Peter Gabriel in his pomp and just wish there was somewhere you could get up and do a karaoke  version of Suppers Ready all 28 odd minutes of it!

Genesis – Kate Bush – Led Zeppelin – Saxon – Magnum – Thin Lizzy – Jethro Tull – Rush – Yes – Marillion

ps I do like some more recent music but I think we all go back to what we grew up with, when we were young, handsome and didn’t have to breathe in at the swimming baths!

Leave a Reply

